It is currently Sat Nov 26, 2011 7:54 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Maven Refactor
PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 4:13 am 
Offline
Developer

Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 1:18 am
Posts: 62
I checked in a branch with a directory refactor and mvn support to pull down the dependencies.

I'd like some feedback on it, and to merge it with trunk quickly before other changes get made.

To use the branch you'll want to install the IAM eclipse plugin from the update site:

http://q4e.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/updatesite-iam/

The branch is in: /branches/mvn

I tested it with RunAs in eclipse and it started fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 9:51 pm 
Offline
Lead Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 5:46 pm
Posts: 904
Location: Netherlands
Okay, looks fine to me. I see that under the depencies there is now mockito. What's that? And shouldn't the other libraries ted uses also be added there?

I did a little bit of reading on the Maven subject and it looks quite cool. It also looks like you can do really a lot with it and I wouldn't know exactly where to start :)

What exactly do you all have in mind with Maven?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 10:19 pm 
Offline
Developer

Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 1:18 am
Posts: 62
Thanks for checking it over. There's currently dependencies both in the maven pom.xml and in the standard /lib. They are:

-----
The Maven side currently lists the following dependencies:

rome - the version you already had, this pulls in jdom as well

junit - a unit testing framework for writing tests

mockito - a mock framework, to help break coupling in the unit tests, and tests processes that would otherwise be slow.

-----
The /lib still contains:

forms-1.1.0 - because the earliest version in maven is 1.2.0, so we may look at updating to this at some point.

jdic - still have to research how to bring this down, as there's the libraries for each platform.

-----
The other two should soon be moved over to the maven side, then maven should be able to pull down all the dependencies automatically, and package them all into a single package for making releases.

It will also easily generate reports for the state of the junit tests (pass/fail), and reports for any other plugins we add (code complexity, warnings, etc).

Basically it'll handle all the build work, so we can spend more time on code :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 10:07 am 
Offline
Lead Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 5:46 pm
Posts: 904
Location: Netherlands
Quote:
The /lib still contains:

forms-1.1.0 - because the earliest version in maven is 1.2.0, so we may look at updating to this at some point.

Do you know if there would be any problems if we would update?

Quote:
Basically it'll handle all the build work, so we can spend more time on code

Cool ;)

Btw, I don't see your new branch appearing on FishEye. Do you know why this is?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 4:12 pm 
Offline
Developer

Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 1:18 am
Posts: 62
Jofo wrote:
Quote:
The /lib still contains:

forms-1.1.0 - because the earliest version in maven is 1.2.0, so we may look at updating to this at some point.

Do you know if there would be any problems if we would update?


I don't know what has changed, but I found a copy of version 1.1.0 in the java.net repository, so I've included that one in maven instead.

Jofo wrote:
Btw, I don't see your new branch appearing on FishEye. Do you know why this is?


I'm not exactly sure. Do you have access to the administration on FishEye to see the project settings? Maybe it's just being slow to update (although it has been a bit now).


So, for the new layout, is everything acceptable? Shall I merge it back to trunk?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 4:30 pm 
Offline
Lead Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 5:46 pm
Posts: 904
Location: Netherlands
Yep, fine by me. I'm only wondering is the translations folder should stay in the main/java/ted directory. Isn't this more a resource than source? Or maybe it is even something else :)

One thing, I would rename the HACKING file in the main directory. It doesn't seem to be about hacking but about Maven. Maybe we can make a link in the directory to the Wiki how to set up ted in eclipse.

After you're done we've to adjust the Wiki of course :)Shouldn't forgot to change the links on the development and translations page as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 4:38 pm 
Offline
Developer

Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 1:18 am
Posts: 62
Okay,

I'm going to move it trunk first, and make the adjustments afterwards, just to make sure it's updated for anyone else looking to make changes.

You're 100% right that translations should be in resources. I had that on my TODO list as well. It was kept in src for the moment because I didn't have time to fully test that it would end up in the classpath correctly with how they are loaded.

The HACKING file likely can be deleted once the wiki is updated. I don't (yet) have access to the wiki to make changes, so I couldn't add the IAM requirement to the eclipse page. Or a link to the wiki page would also work well.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 4:49 pm 
Offline
Lead Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 5:46 pm
Posts: 904
Location: Netherlands
The log in page of the wiki is .

I don't think you can create an account for the wiki though, I think roel has to do that for you. We had lots of trouble in the beginning with spam on the wiki so I think at this point only roel and I can edit it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 5:16 pm 
Offline
Developer

Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 1:18 am
Posts: 62
Okay, it's official. The project has been mavenized :).

I didn't put in the HACKING file, and will update the wiki when I have an account (tested it, and I don't seem to have one yet).

To do an 'ant dist' from the CLI you now first have to run 'mvn dependency:copy-dependencies' to copy them locally, but that'll change in the future when we have maven creating the builds for us.

Let me know of any problem that arise and I'll fix them right away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 6:24 pm 
Offline
Lead Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 5:46 pm
Posts: 904
Location: Netherlands
I don't see any changes in the SVN repository?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 10:04 pm 
Offline
Developer

Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 1:18 am
Posts: 62
oops, eclipse was stalled waiting on a password. Should be in now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 9:33 am 
Offline
Lead Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 4:11 pm
Posts: 645
Location: Netherlands
Hi, looks good! I am not at home at the moment so I cannot try if everything is still working but I trust that it does :DI will send you a password for the wiki so you can edit it.

I will clean up some folders (like the icon folder, there are a lot of unused icons there) when I get home, so only the icons that are really used in ted are included as resource.

_________________
Roel

i watch: simpsons, south park, lost, top gear, true blood & fringe
download - documentation - bugs/feature requests - sourceforge -


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 11:01 am 
Offline
Lead Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 5:46 pm
Posts: 904
Location: Netherlands
Okay, seems to work for me.

One thing, I see errors in the TedMainMacListener: the import com.apple cannot be resolved.

As I'm working under Windows that's no problem for me, but it could be for people using a Mac.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 2:21 pm 
Offline
Developer

Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 1:18 am
Posts: 62
Jofo wrote:
Okay, seems to work for me.

One thing, I see errors in the TedMainMacListener: the import com.apple cannot be resolved.

As I'm working under Windows that's no problem for me, but it could be for people using a Mac.


Fixed. I'd actually not noticed because I'm running on a Mac. It shouldn't have been a problem on any platform though, as that code is only run on Mac, and Mac already includes those libraries directly in the OS.

Thanks for the heads up.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 7:30 pm 
Offline
Developer

Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 9:31 pm
Posts: 44
Great stuff. When it becomes time, I'll have to start building the web interface with maven as well, and integrating it with the project.

_________________
MS


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group